Willis earns degree at UA

Julia Willis of Jonesboro has received a Bachelor of Science in Human Environmental Sciences from The University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa during its Dec. 12 fall commencement.

BRTC announces honor rolls

Black River Technical College in Pocahontas recently announced students named to the fall 2020 president’s and dean’s list.

Craighead County students included on the president’s list were Edward Evans of Brookland and Matthew Carter, Breanna Hodge, Kersten Hovis, Kaylop Meadows, Stacey Segraves, Skikeshia Smith, Donovan Todd and Charles Williams, all of Jonesboro.

Those named to the dean’s list were Tamara Brown, Andrew Hollis, Brianna Honeycutt, Laura Jones, Bobbie Lucius, Chloe Maness, Toria Neal, Parker Waln and Alixandria Yahnke, all of Jonesboro.

Langston offered APSU scholarship

Austin Peay State University in Clarksville, Tenn., has offered Jeffrey Langston of Blytheville the Provost Out-of-State Scholarship for high-achieving freshmen for the Fall 2021 semester.

Out-of-state students meeting the criteria of a 3.5 grade point average qualify for the scholarship.

BRTC receives grant

Black River Technical College was recently approved by the Federal Emergency Management Agency for a $1.24 million flood mitigation grant which will be used to construct a system of earthen berms, masonry wall, sump and discharge pipes around the perimeter of the main campus at Pocahontas to prevent destruction of the campus facilities by floodwaters.

Rural schools receive support

The National Institute for Excellence in Teaching and Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators have announced a joint effort that will provide customized professional learning to 25 rural school districts and as many as 75 schools across Arkansas. The three-year program, called the Arkansas Rural Educator Network is supported through a $4.85 million grant from the Walton Family Foundation.

There will be two groups of school districts throughout the course of the grant. The first cohort of 30 schools across 12 districts which launched this semester, includes the Cross County and Hoxie school district in this Northeast Arkansas.

Frito-Lay and BRTC team up

Representatives from Frito-Lay recently announced an upcoming paid internship available to Black River Technical College students enrolled in the school’s industrial maintenance program.

Students who have completed one semester of an industrial maintenance program and meet the company requirements will have an opportunity to expand their skills while applying classroom concepts to real-world experiences. For more details, Pocahontas students should contact Phillip Dickson, Dean of Business & Technical Education, at 870-248-4000, Ext. 4125 or phillipd@blackrivertech.edu; or Darenda Kersey, Director of Career, Technical and Concurrent Education, at 870-248-4000, Ext. 4184 or darenda.kersey@black rivertech.edu. Paragould students should contact Priscilla Stillwell at 870-239-0969, Ext. 5101, or priscilla. stillwell@blackrivertech.edu.

NYITCOM to offer free MCAT prep

Arkansas State University students in Jonesboro who are interested in applying for medical school are invited to participate in a free Medical College Admissions Test (MCAT) prep course offered this summer by New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine at A-State and supported by a Kays Foundation grant.

The PrepAR program is scheduled to start in June and will last approximately seven weeks. For more information on the program, contact NYITCOM at A-State at 870-680-8831 or email Brent. Owens@nyit.edu.

BRTC administrators join MLK event

Dr. Brad Baine, Vice President for Academic Affairs at Black River Technical College (pictured) and Jason Smith, BRTC’s Vice President of Student Affairs, spoke during the Randolph County MLK Day Celebration held Jan. 18 at the courthouse. The two presented a timeline of major events in the life of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Hamsa named to president’s list

Phelia Hamsa of Jonesboro was named to the fall 2020 president’s list at Georgia State University in Atlanta. Hamsa is studying criminal justice.

To be eligible for the list, degree-seeking students must have a grade point average of at least 4.0 for a minimum of nine semester hours of academic credit taken at Georgia State during the fall or spring term with no incompletes for the semester and a minimum GPA of 2.0 for all classes taken at Georgia State.

FFA conference held at BRTC

Shauna Throesch, BRTC Agriculture Instructor, and Joe Washburn, Pocahontas High School FFA sponsor, teamed up to host the FFA Subarea Leadership Conference at Black River Technical College.

On Jan. 15, 25 students from six area schools competed in leadership skills events to demonstrate their public speaking, decision making, and communication abilities. Students who placed at this event will be competing at the upcoming district competition.

Students make president’s list

Ouachita Baptist University in Arkadelphia, has announced students named to its fall 2020 president’s list. To be included, students must compile a 4.0 grade point average and be classified as full-time students, with a minimum of 12 academic hours and have no incomplete or failing grade for the semester.

Area students include Natalie Moore of Ash Flat, Karlee Sanders of Caraway, Joy Covington of Cherokee Village, Kaylee Martin of Harrisburg, Izzy Baughn, Kellen Church, Bethany Crawley, Ashlyn Ham, Molly Maddox, Noah McCallum, Isabella Owen and Faith VonDran, all of Jonesboro, Vivian Pryor of Manila and Kaitlyn Stoddard and Isabella Wood, both of Paragould.

BRTC receives grant

Black River Technical College in Paragould was awarded a $598,000 Regional Workforce Grant for Industrial Computing technology.

This grant will be used to buy software and equipment for existing programs and may potentially lead to a new technical program. BRTC is collaborating with Aaron Hale, President of Fidus Global located in Paragould, to determine local industry needs which will enable BRTC to develop curriculum to properly train students to enter the workforce.

Georgia State announces dean’s list

Georgia State University in Atlanta has announced the fall 2020 semester dean’s list.

Included on the list were Trinh Dinh and Vinh Nguyen, both of Jonesboro. Dinh is majoring in hospitality administration while Nguyen is majoring in finance.

To be eligible for the list, degree-seeking students must have earned a grade point average of at least 3.5 for a minimum of nine semester hours of academic credit taken at Georgia State during the fall or spring term with no incompletes for the semester.

Eligible students must have a minimum GPA of 2.0 for all classes taken at Georgia State.

Smith elected to ArSAA executive boardBlack River Technical College’s Vice President of Student Affairs, Jason Smith was recently elected to the executive board of directors for the Arkansas Student Affairs Association during this fall’s annual Partners for Student Success conference.

The ArSAA provides programs, services, opportunities, leadership, and guidance to institutions of higher education within the State of Arkansas in developing programs that address statewide needs.

Smith will serve a two-year term on the ArSAA executive team.

Tant named to Millikin dean’s list

Robert Tant of Paragould is among the undergraduates named to the fall 2020 dean’s list at Millikin University Decatur, Ill.

Students who attempt 12 graded credits during a fall or spring semester and earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher earn dean’s list honors.