Arkansas Single Parent Scholarships awarded

Three single-parent students in Randolph County were presented scholarships on Sept. 23. Ripley Owen, Brianna Emmons and Rachael Gardner received checks totaling $3,600 from the Arkansas Single Parent Scholarship Fund of Randolph County.

Owen is a student at Black River Technical College. Emmons is a student at ASU-Newport and Gardner is studying at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro.

Master Gardeners award scholarship

The Greene County Master Gardeners recently awarded the organization’s 2020 scholarship to Kyleigh Ryan Threlkeld. She is attending the University of Arkansas, where she is majoring in agricultural business and crop sciences.

Jonesboro resident receives scholarship

Lillie Pitts of Jonesboro, a junior medical student at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock, has been awarded a $20,000 Arkansas Blue Cross and Blue Shield Primary Care Scholarship, which encourages aspiring physicians to pursue primary care practices in rural Arkansas.

Pitts graduated from Jonesboro High School and received her undergraduate degree from the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville. She served as a coordinator for the UAMS Medical Applications of Science for Health program in Jonesboro.

Howard named to UALR Law Review

Hannah Howard of Paragould has been selected as a notes & comments editor of the 2020-21 UA Little Rock Law Review by the William H. Bowen School of Law. Students who have completed their first year of law school are eligible to participate in the publication if they are in the top 10 percent of their class or have successfully passed the write-on competition.

The review is a quarterly publication of articles, surveys and essays that are timely and useful to Arkansas practitioners, the judiciary and other members of the state’s legal community; materials that reach national and international legal audiences. It provides a forum for outstanding student work of both local and national interest, as well as an opportunity for students to gain experience editing scholarly articles.

Sowell inducted into honor society

Emily Sowell, an interdisciplinary studies with a concentration in elementary education and interdisciplinary studies with a concentration in middle school education major from Paragould, was inducted into the Freed-Hardeman University’s Alpha Chi honor society on Oct. 6.

Inductees must have a minimum grade-point average of 3.9 or higher and represent academic excellence and character. Membership is through invitation only to juniors and seniors.

The university is located in Henderson, Tenn.

Nightingale Scholarships awarded

Fall 2020 Nightingale Scholarships at Black River Technical College in Pocahontas were awarded to Tessa Glenn of Pocahontas and Madison Brooke Willfond of Walnut Ridge.

The scholarships, sponsored by the BRTC nursing faculty and staff, are awarded to practical nursing students in their second semester of the program. Recipients are chosen based on qualities that exemplify the spirit of caring embodied by Florence Nightingale.

UALR law school names Student Bar members

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law has announced its 2020-21 members for the Student Bar Association.

Local students selected and their positions include Amy Clay-Thomas of Hardy, 3L Full-Time Senator; Clayton Orr of Hardy, 3L Part-Time Senator; and Drew Roberson of Jonesboro, 1L Full-Time Senator.

Robotics training coming to BRTC

Black River Technical College in Pocahontas recently received a FANUC Robotics Training System through the Regional Workforce Continuation Grant. Jack DeLoach, electricity instructor, is attending online training this semester and will complete certification training offsite during the summer of 2021.

For more information about BRTC’s industrial electricity/electronics program, contact Phillip Dickson at 870-248-4000 ext. 4125 or

Baine elected VP of Deans Association

Black River Technical College in Pocahontas has announced that Dr. Brad Baine, Vice President of Academic Affairs, was recently elected vice president of the Arkansas Deans Association. Baine was elected in September and will serve through September 2021.

Students graduate from Harding

More than 100 students received diplomas and were recognized as summer 2020 graduates during a virtual ceremony on Aug. 15 at Harding University in Searcy. These graduates were recognized alongside over 800 additional students who completed their degrees in May.

Included were Elizabeth Ramsey of Jonesboro, Bachelor of Arts in elementary education; and Sharon Clark of Newport, a Master of Arts in Teaching in special education b-k.