Law school names student bar members

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law has announced its 2020-21 members for the Student Bar Association.

Local students selected and their positions include Amy Clay-Thomas of Hardy, 3L Full-Time Senator; Clayton Orr of Hardy, 3L Part-Time Senator; and Drew Roberson of Jonesboro, 1L Full-Time Senator.

Robotics training coming to BRTC

Black River Technical College in Pocahontas recently received a FANUC Robotics Training System through the Regional Workforce Continuation Grant. Jack DeLoach, electricity instructor, is attending online training this semester and will complete certification training offsite during the summer of 2021.

For more information about BRTC’s industrial electricity/electronics program, contact Phillip Dickson at 870-248-4000, Ext. 4125, or

Students graduate from Harding

More than 100 students received diplomas and were recognized as summer 2020 graduates during a virtual ceremony on Aug. 15 at Harding University in Searcy. These graduates were recognized alongside over 800 additional students who completed their degrees in May.

Included were Elizabeth Ramsey of Jonesboro, bachelor of arts in elementary education; and Sharon Clark of Newport, a master of arts in teaching in special education b-k.

Condray named BRTC Academic All-Star

Last spring, Anthony Condray of Paragould was named Black River Technical College’s 2020 Academic All-Star, selected by BRTC faculty and staff.

Condray is a 2004 graduate of Marmaduke High School seeking an associate of science degree in agriculture. Condray is the son of Tony Condray and Donna Traywick. He and his wife Breanna have one son, Brayden.

BRTC Academic All-Stars receive a $500 scholarship for their final semester and are offered free tuition at one of the Arkansas public state universities of their choice

Faulkner makes WKCTC dean’s list

Christopher Faulkner, a native of Greene County, was one of more than 490 students recently named to the dean’s list for the Spring 2020 semester at West Kentucky Community and Technical College in Paducah, Ky.

To be named to the list, a student must be a full-time WKCTC student earning at least a 3.5 grade-point average and successfully completing 12 hours or more of course work numbered 100 or above for the academic term.

Baine elected VP of Deans Association

Black River Technical College in Pocahontas has announced that Dr. Brad Baine, vice president of Academic Affairs, was recently elected vice president of the Arkansas Deans Association. Baine was elected in September and will serve through September 2021.

Blackwells benefit Delta students

A $120,000 gift to the University of Arkansas from Marlon and Ati Blackwell will encourage diversity in the field of architecture and offer new opportunities for students.

The Marlon and Ati Blackwell Advance Arkansas Endowed Scholarship will support new, returning and transfer students from Arkansas who exhibit financial need, records of academic success and a strong desire to complete their degree at the University of Arkansas in the Fay Jones School.

Preference will be given to graduates of Arkansas Delta high schools, including those in Chicot, Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Greene, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Lee, Lincoln, Lonoke, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett, Pulaski, Prairie, Randolph, White and Woodruff counties.

Soulard researches American Indian removal

Alex Soulard of Jonesboro is one of the researchers at the Sequoyah National Research Center at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock who created a website visualizing American Indian removal.

He served as a graduate assistant on the project.

A-State alumni establish scholarships

Arkansas State University alumni Buddy and Charlotte Beck have funded endowed scholarships in honor of Dr. Susan Hanrahan, dean of the College of Nursing and Health Professions, and Dr. Robert Potts, former A-State chancellor, in recognition for their service to the Beck Center for Veterans.

The Becks provided a significant gift to establish the Beck PRIDE Center, now known as the Beck Center for Veterans, in 2007.

The Dr. Robert Potts Endowed Scholarship will go to a veteran student who is either majoring in engineering, plans to take a pre-law curriculum and attend law school, or who is majoring in political science with intentions to enter public service. Candidates must be incoming freshman veterans with a 3.0 grade-point average in high school or undergraduate veterans with a record of college courses who have applied for a privately funded scholarship through the A-State portal.

The Dr. Susan Noll Hanrahan Endowed Scholarship recipient must be a veteran who is admitted into a degree program in the College of Nursing and Health Professions with at least a 3.0 GPA. Selection will be made by the College of Nursing and Health Professions Scholarship Committee.