Baldwin graduates with distinction

Emily Baldwin of Little Rock recently received a bachelor of science degree with distinction from Hendrix College in Conway. She also received the Earle A. Spessard Biology Award.

She is currently participating in an intern program in environmental studies based at Camp Robinson in North Little Rock.

Baldwin is the daughter of Kyle and Amy Baldwin of Little Rick and the granddaughter of Melissa and Larry Baldwin and Bettye and Garland Gibson, all from Jonesboro.

Alberston wins art award

Cade Alberston of Harrisburg was among the students recognized for their works of arts and literature during the annual Arts and Humanities Research Capstone Symposium Awards ceremony held May 10 at the Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts in Hot Springs.

Albertson took first place in screenwriting.

Chamberlain elected to SGA

Rosemary Chamberlain of Jonesboro has been elected president for the coming 2021-22 academic year to the Student Government Association at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock.

The mission of the Student Government Association is to represent the students of UA Little Rock in the decision-making process of the university, to provide needed services for the students and to further the interests of the university and its students.

Crippen graduates Hinds

Courtney Crippen of Jonesboro was among the students graduating from Hinds Community College, based in Raymond, Miss.

Stock Market winners named

Stock Market Game winners of the 2020-21 facilitated by Economics Arkansas, have been announced.

The game challenges students in grades 4-12 to grow a hypothetical $100,000 portfolio over 13 weeks each fall and spring semester or the whole school year.

Winners of each session receive cash prizes, awards and public recognition.

Brookland Middle School with advisor Katie Garoutte was the first place winner in the elementary category for the yearlong competition.

In the spring semester competition, Trumann High School with advisor Kristin Austin, took first place in Region 4 of the High School Division and Al Tiner, an instructor at Douglas MacArthur Junior High School in Jonesboro was first in the Teacher Division.

ASUN offers new scholarships

Arkansas State University-Newport is accepting applications three new institutional scholarships.

The Incoming Aviator, Promising Aviator and Reentry Aviator scholarships are designed to alleviate the financial burden of college for students from an underrepresented race, transferring from another institution, and those who have been incarcerated and completed a reentry program.

Scholarship applications must be submitted by July 1. Applications and full details are available at

Jonesboro students make dean’s list

The University of Mississippi in Oxford recently announced students named to the spring 2021 dean’s honor roll.

Included were Garrett Childers, Mary Alice Gabe, Torrence Tuberville and Anslee Wilson, all of Jonesboro.

Students named to the dean’s honor roll earn a semester grade point average of 3.50-3.74, must have completed at least 12 graded hours for the semester and may not be on academic probation during the semester.

Sloan scholarship awarded

The Jim and Betty Sloan Memorial Scholarship has been awarded to Mason Laws of Cabot, a junior in the College of Agriculture at Arkansas State University.

The scholarship is awarded to a junior agriculture major for up to four semesters, including graduate study, as long as the recipient maintains a 3.25 grade point average and remains in the College of Agriculture. One standard is showing promise of service to the future of agriculture in Northeast Arkansas.

It is awarded by a committee representing both the Sloan family and Craighead County Farm Bureau.

Area students make honor roll

Missouri Valley College in Marshall, has announced the spring 2021 dean’s list.

Area students included Shannon Warren of Ash Flat and Betsy Roemer of Bono.

Students included on the dean’s list earn a 3.3 or higher grade point average with at least 12 graded hours for the semester and no “D,” “F,” or “incomplete” grades for the semester.

Wood receives top award

Madison Wood of Paragould received the Chancellor Scholar Award in University College at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro as the 2020-21 graduating student with the highest overall grade-point average in the college.

University College offers the interdisciplinary studies major to those seeking the flexibility to select a course of study from a wide array of disciplines.

SNHU announces honor rolls

Southern New Hampshire University in Manchester has announced the winter 2021 president’s and dean’s lists. The winter term runs from January to May.

Students who have earned 12 credits and a minimum grade-point average of 3.700 and above are named to the president’s list.

Area students included Shannon Davis, Charles Hopkins, Zhou Ni, Cody Skaggs and Bridget Childs, all of Jonesboro; Justin Montgomery of Brookland; Corrie Flugrad of Paragould; Amber Hinkle and Adam Henderson, both of Wynne; and Cory Roberts of Newport.

Laurie Wilson of Trumann made the dean’s list which includes full-time students who have earned a minimum grade-point average of 3.500 to 3.699.

Lane completes online degree

Meagan Lane of Paragould earned a bachelor of science in accounting from University of Maryland Global Campus.

Based in Adelphi, the university offers online programs in disciplines including biotechnology, cybersecurity, data analytics, and information technology.

Students named to chancellor’s list

The University of Mississippi in Oxford recently announced students named to the spring 2021 chancellor’s honor roll.

Included were Caroline Pickens, Macey Ross, Katherine Smith, Sophie Trevathan and Maryfrances Umeora, all of Jonesboro, Kailee Ayers of Paragould, Rylie Mangold of Pocahontas and Brianna Cupp of Walcott.

The chancellor’s honor roll is reserved for students who earn a semester grade-point average of 3.75-4.00.

BRTC to offer new degree

On May 7 2021, Black River Technical College in Pocahontas received final approval from the Higher Learning Commission to offer an Associate of Science in Education during the 2021-22 academic year.

The Associate of Science in Education (K-6) is for students wishing to complete the first two years of a baccalaureate program in the K-6 education field. BRTC has articulation agreements for this degree with the University of Central Arkansas and Arkansas Tech University.

Ponder receives Optus scholarship

Hannah Ponder, a 2021 graduate of Walnut Ridge High School, has received this year’s Optus Family Scholarship offered by Optus Inc. in memoriam of Adam Harrington, son of former employee Neal Harrington and his wife and Rhonda.

The $1,000 per semester scholarship will be renewed by Optus for up to three additional years.

It is awarded annually to children or grandchildren of current full-time Optus employees who are full-time students working towards undergraduate degrees at accredited colleges or universities, and have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0.

Ponder is the daughter of employee Shannon Ponder and husband Spencer.

Crow joins BRTC

Jessica Crow has accepted the position of administrative specialist for corporate and community education and adult education on the Pocahontas campus of Black River Technical College.

Crow is a 1998 graduate of Trumann High School and earned a secretarial certificate from Delta Technical Institute. Before accepting the position at BRTC, she managed Fitness Worx Health Club in Pocahontas for eight years.