Rockhurst University announces dean’s list

Reagan Dodd of Jonesboro was included the dean’s list for the spring 2020 semester at Rockhurst University in Kansas City, Mo.

This honor recognizes students who have achieved a grade-point average of 3.5 or above.

Bono resident makes honor roll

Kalifa Ariyuana Ford of Bono was named on Oklahoma Baptist University’s dean’s honor roll for the spring 2020 semester.

The dean’s honor roll acknowledges those who achieved a grade-point average from 3.4 to 3.69.

Area students make honor roll

Two area students were named to the spring 2020 honor roll at Bethel University’s College of Arts & Sciences and College of Health Sciences in McKenzie, Tenn. They were Chloe Amick of Jonesboro and Shelby Powers of Pocahontas.

To qualify for the honor roll, undergraduates must have completed 12 or more hours of academic work with an average grade-point average of 3.7 or above and no grade lower than a “C.”

SEMO announces spring dean’s list

Southeast Missouri State University in Cape Girardeau recently announced the names of student included on the spring 2020 dean’s list.

Area student included were Layla Bouzihay of Jonesboro; J.T. Bradish of Corning; Alexis Harris, Karissa Metcalf and Frederick Wright, all of Blytheville; and Will Henson and Heather Steel, both of Paragould.

Students on the dean’s list must earn at least a 3.75 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale, complete at least 12 hours of standard graded credit, achieved no grade below a B and received no failing or U grades in enrolled, credit/no credit or pass/fail courses.

Norwood named to dean’s list

Catherine Norwood from Jonesboro was recently named to the dean’s list at the College of William & Mary in Williamsburg, Va. for the spring 2020 semester.

In order to achieve dean’s list status, a full-time degree seeking undergraduate student must take at least 12 credit hours and earn a 3.6 quality-point average during the semester.

Arkansas Tech names dean’s list

Arkansas Tech University in Russellville recently named 2,035 students to its spring 2020 dean’s list for undergraduate students.

Student must achieve a 3.5 grade-point average or higher and complete at least 12 hours of college-level coursework to be named to the list; 910 achieved a 4.0 GPA.

Area residents making the list were Janala Adams, Corey Chunn and Caleb Gleason, all of Blytheville; Shonta Suthrlen (4.0) of Hickory Ridge; Alicia Croney (4.0) and Chloe Stroud, both of Hoxie; Sara Belk, Haylee Davis (4.0) and Ramiro Gurdian (4.0), all of Jonesboro; Larry Tilley III of Lake City; Kaytlen Castanon of Leachville; Gabriela Gurdian, Olivia Rowe (4.0) and Anna Shain, all of Paragould; Alex Gibson and Holly Parnell (4.0), both of Piggott; Wendell Edwards of Sidney; and A’darius Wallace of Wynne.

Dollman makes McKendree president’s list

Faith Dollman of Newport was named to the president’s list at McKendree University, Lebanon, Ill., for achieving a perfect 4.0 grade-point average during the spring 2020 semester.

ASUMH announces spring honor rolls

Arkansas State University-Mountain Home recently released its chancellor’s and vice chancellor’s lists. for the spring semester 2020.

The chancellor’s list included students with a 4.0 grade-point average, while students on the vice chancellor’s list had a 3.6 to 3.99 GPA All students must have had 12 credit hours of college-level coursework for the semester.

Cindi Grant of Pocahontas was named to the chancellor’s list while Makala Masson of Jonesboro was included on the vice chancellor’s list.

SAU announces spring grads

A number of students from The Sun coverage are were among the spring 2020 graduates at Southern Arkansas University in Magnolia.

Undergraduate degrees went to Samuel Wakefield of Jonesboro, Bachelor of Fine Arts with highest honors and Elizabeth Wess of Williford, Bachelor of Science with honors.

Earning Master of Arts in Teaching degrees were Sally Barnett and Leslie Drew, both of Paragould, Kristy Miller and Benjamin White, both of Jonesboro, Hannah Jean Morgan of Smithville and Jena Weld of Blytheville.

Ebony Brown of Blytheville earned a Master of Education.

Schwarz receives Sloan Scholarship

Andrew Dylan Schwarz of Weiner, a junior plant and soil science major, was chosen as the latest recipient of the Jim and Betty Sloan Scholarship in the College of Agriculture at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro. The scholarship will provide $2,000 per semester for four semesters as long as he maintains an overall 3.25 grade-point average.

Schwarz is the son of Tony and Sandra Schwarz and plans to continue to work with his family’s rice and soybean farm operation in Poinsett County. After college, he also hopes to become certified as a crop scout to supplement farm income as an independent consultant.

Samford announces dean’s list

Five area students were among those recognized on the spring dean’s list at Samford University in Birmingham, Ala.

Included were Graham Averitt, Benjamin Scholtens, Samantha Brandt and Camryn Pierce, all of Jonesboro, and Madeline Hixson of Blytheville.

To qualify for the dean’s list, a student must have earned a minimum 3.5 grade-point average out of a possible 4.0 while attempting at least 12 credit hours of coursework.

Welch named to deans’ list at Nebraska

Isabel Welch of Jonesboro has been named to the deans’ list at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln for the spring semester of the 2019-20 academic year.

Welch, a junior microbiology major, was named to the dean’s list for the College of Arts and Sciences.

Starr named to Hiram’s dean’s list

Hiram College in Ohio has announced that Katherine Starr of Jonesboro was named to the dean’s list for the spring 2020 semester.

Dean’s list recognition is awarded each semester to students who, during the semester, complete 12 or more hours of graded coursework with a semester grade-point average of 3.6 or better.

UALR announces chancellor’s list

The University of Arkansas Little Rock recently announced its spring 2020 chancellor’s list, recognizing nearly 900 students with superior academic performance in the spring 2020 semester.

To be eligible for the list, students must earn at least nine credit hours and at least a 3.9 grade-point average.

Local UALR students who were honored include Mariam Bouzihay, Kenetra Phillips, Gage Pipkin and Olgaaurora Rodriguez, all of Jonesboro; Hannah Tyler of Manila; Luke Samaniego of Newport; Karson Oakes of Paragould; and John Schwarz of Weiner.

UALR students named to dean’s list

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock has announced the names of students who have made the dean’s list for the spring 2020 semester.

To be on the list, UALR students must earn at least nine credit hours and maintain a minimum 3.5 grade-point average.

Local students who made the list include Lasi McGhee and Brianna Jefferson, both of Blytheville; Karissa Bennett, Rosemary Chamberlain, David Cline, Corey Currie, Latambria Hampton, Anabelen Rodriguez and Nicholas Wright, all of Jonesboro; JaKobi Glenn of Osceola; Claudia Loyd, Amanda Robbins and Logan Sellen, all of Paragould; and Jacquelyn Arnold of Pocahontas.