Wynne teacher regional finalist

Brycial Williams, first-grade teacher at Wynne Primary School is one of 12 teachers named 2021 Arkansas Teacher of the Year Regional Finalists by the Arkansas Department of Education. The regional finalists will be recognized and the four state semi-finalists will be announced at an event July 31 at the Governor’s Mansion in Little Rock. The Wynne School District is a member of the Crowley’s Ridge Educational Service Cooperative.

ASUMH announces spring honor rolls

Arkansas State University-Mountain Home recently released its chancellor’s and vice chancellor’s lists. for the spring semester 2020.

The chancellor’s list included students with a 4.0 grade-point average, while students on the vice chancellor’s list had a 3.6 to 3.99 GPA All students must have had 12 credit hours of college-level coursework for the semester.

Cindi Grant of Pocahontas was named to the chancellor’s list while Makala Masson of Jonesboro was included on the vice chancellor’s list.

SAU announces spring grads

A number of students from The Sun coverage are were among the spring 2020 graduates at Southern Arkansas University in Magnolia.

Undergraduate degrees went to Samuel Wakefield of Jonesboro, Bachelor of Fine Arts with highest honors and Elizabeth Wess of Williford, Bachelor of Science with honors.

Earning Master of Arts in Teaching degrees were Sally Barnett and Leslie Drew, both of Paragould, Kristy Miller and Benjamin White, both of Jonesboro, Hannah Jean Morgan of Smithville and Jena Weld of Blytheville.

Ebony Brown of Blytheville earned a Master of Education.

Schwarz receives Sloan Scholarship

Andrew Dylan Schwarz of Weiner, a junior plant and soil science major, was chosen as the latest recipient of the Jim and Betty Sloan Scholarship in the College of Agriculture at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro. The scholarship will provide $2,000 per semester for four semesters as long as he maintains an overall 3.25 grade-point average.

Schwarz is the son of Tony and Sandra Schwarz and plans to continue to work with his family’s rice and soybean farm operation in Poinsett County. After college, he also hopes to become certified as a crop scout to supplement farm income as an independent consultant.

Samford announces dean’s list

Five area students were among those recognized on the spring dean’s list at Samford University in Birmingham, Ala.

Included were Graham Averitt, Benjamin Scholtens, Samantha Brandt and Camryn Pierce, all of Jonesboro, and Madeline Hixson of Blytheville.

To qualify for the dean’s list, a student must have earned a minimum 3.5 grade-point average out of a possible 4.0 while attempting at least 12 credit hours of coursework.

Welch named to Nebraska deans’ list

Isabel Welch of Jonesboro has been named to the deans’ list at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln for the spring semester of the 2019-20 academic year.

Welch, a junior microbiology major, was named to the dean’s list for the College of Arts and Sciences.

Starr named to Hiram’s dean’s list

Hiram College in Ohio has announced that Katherine Starr of Jonesboro was named to the dean’s list for the spring 2020 semester.

Dean’s list recognition is awarded each semester to students who, during the semester, complete 12 or more hours of graded coursework with a semester grade-point average of 3.6 or better.

UALR announces chancellor’s list

The University of Arkansas Little Rock recently announced its spring 2020 chancellor’s list, recognizing nearly 900 students with superior academic performance in the spring 2020 semester.

To be eligible for the list, students must earn at least nine credit hours and at least a 3.9 grade-point average.

Local UALR students who were honored include Mariam Bouzihay, Kenetra Phillips, Gage Pipkin and Olgaaurora Rodriguez, all of Jonesboro; Hannah Tyler of Manila; Luke Samaniego of Newport; Karson Oakes of Paragould; and John Schwarz of Weiner.

UALR students named to dean’s list

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock has announced the names of students who have made the dean’s list for the spring 2020 semester.

To be on the list, UALR students must earn at least nine credit hours and maintain a minimum 3.5 grade-point average.

Local students who made the list include Lasi McGhee and Brianna Jefferson, both of Blytheville; Karissa Bennett, Rosemary Chamberlain, David Cline, Corey Currie, Latambria Hampton, Anabelen Rodriguez and Nicholas Wright, all of Jonesboro; JaKobi Glenn of Osceola; Claudia Loyd, Amanda Robbins and Logan Sellen, all of Paragould; and Jacquelyn Arnold of Pocahontas.