ASMSA students earn recognition

Area students at the Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts in Hot Springs earned recognition at the Arkansas State Future Business Leaders of America Leadership Awards.

The awards were announced during the organization’s virtual state conference on March 29-30.

Winners included: Abby Berger of Jonseboro, first place for health care administration; Mason Duren of Keiser, second place for computer game and simulation; and Jacob Holmes of Rector, second place for future business leader.

The top four competitors in each category qualify for the FBLA National Conference, to be held virtually later this year.

May awarded scholarship

Nathan May of Newport, a biotechnology major is the recipient of the national Goldwater Scholarship. He is the son of Lisa Dawn May and James Anthony May.

The sophomore honors student conducts research under the guidance of Dr. Sudeepa Bhattacharyya.

The Goldwater Scholarship Program rewards students in the natural sciences, engineering and mathematics who show exceptional promise. Goldwater Scholars annually receive an amount equal to the cost of tuition, mandatory fees, books and room and board, up to a maximum of $7,500 annually for both their junior and senior years.

May is the only student at an Arkansas university to win a Goldwater in 2021.

Brewer inducted into honor society

Brayden Brewer of Pollard was among eight Williams Baptist University students inducted April 14 into Sigma Beta Delta, the international honor society for business. The ceremony took place on the university campus in Walnut Ridge.

Sigma Beta Delta is open to college juniors and seniors in the field of business. To qualify, students must rank in the top 20 percent of their class and be invited to join by the faculty of the university’s business department.

SGA officers elected

Arkansas State University students in Jonesboro have elected a new slate of students to represent them in the 2021–22 school year.

Ellie Mayberry of Sheridan was elected president of the Student Government Association.

Other elected include Logan Mitchell, also from Sheridan, vice president; Gabriela Huerta of Little Rock, chief of staff; Asia Hervey of North Little Rock, cultural diversity director; Maddyson Lamb of Imboden, public relations director; Casen May of Paragould, secretary; and Carlee Bird of Manila, parliamentarian.

Local student earns ISEF invite

Lawson Smith of Jonesboro was among three students at the Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts in Hot Springs who qualified as finalists for the 2021 Regeneron International Science and Engineering Fair based on state science fair results.

Smith also placed second for the individual student award for computer science/mathematics and for the Computer Science Teachers Association Award.

The team of Sheridan Dethrow of Jonesboro and Gwen Keith-Powell of North Little Rock received second place for the individual student plant sciences award.

The team of Evan Elk of Jonesboro and Oliva Norman of North Little Rock placed third for the individual student environmental award and received the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Award.

Grady makes ‘Who’s Who’

Maci Grady of Newport, majoring in health information management, was among the 30y students selected for inclusion in the 2021 edition of Who’s Who at Arkansas Tech University.

She is the daughter of Tammi and Shane Grady.

Who’s Who selection is based upon academic achievement, service to the community while enrolled at Tech, leadership and involvement in co-curricular activities and the potential for continued success.

WBU announces academic awards

Williams Baptist University in Walnut Ridge recently announces academic award winners. WBU faculty selected students based on their academic performance in their respective fields.

Area award recipients included: Brayden Brewer of Pollard for business; Shelbey Wolk of Paragould for mid-level education; Rebekah Kopp of Black Rock for English; Hannah Koons of Pocahontas for history; and Kierra Huskey of Jonesboro and Morgan Paige Johnson of Saffell, for natural sciences.

Ashlyn Ellis of Pocahontas received the Dr. RoseMary Weaver Elementary Education Award.

Phi Kappa Phi inducts members

Area students were recently initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines.

Students inducted at Arkansas State University included: Paul Clark II, Ryken Cocherell, Kevin Kaczmarek Jr., Marylin Rozario, Sara Saucedo, Ximai Shi and Amber Wolfe all of Jonesboro; Emma Haskins and Megan McCrary, both of Blytheville; Christina Dupree of Brookland; Cara Johnson of Corning; Anna Chaplain of Fisher; Amy Piker of Newport; Tiffany Johnson and Sadie Masterson, both of Paragould; Dylan Housh of Pocahontas; Sara Wright of Smithville; Alejandra Morales of Trumann; Rachel McQuay of Walnut Ridge; and Courtney Horton of Wynne.

Rylie Mangold of Pocahontas was inducted at The University of Mississippi.

Becks endowment Barker scholarship

Arkansas State University alumni Buddy and Charlotte Beck of Fairfax Station, Va., who presented the university with a gift of $1 million in 2007 to start the Beck Center for Veterans, have announced the establishment of the Gen. George Barker Scholarship Endowment to honor his 11 years of board service to the center.

A-State cleared to add degree

The Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board has cleared the way for Arkansas State University to offer the bachelor of science degree in engineering management systems degree, as well as an undergraduate certificate of proficiency in controls and automation.

The BSEMS will be offered both on-campus and online and will enable students to acquire leadership positions in engineering companies.

Area students get scholarships

Michayla Mears of Valley View High School in Jonesboro and Braden Glenn of Hillcrest High School in Strawberry were recipients of AgHeritage Farm Credit Services $1,000 Customer Scholarships. Recipients were chosen for their outstanding academic performance and school-related extracurricular activities.

The Customer Scholarship Program is open to dependent children and grandchildren of AgHeritage Farm Credit Services stockholder customers.

Bidewell supports A-State theater

Little Rock resident Bob Bidewell has gifted stock valued at $25,000 to the Arkansas State University System Foundation Inc., with the proceeds directed to benefit the Department of Theatre in the College of Liberal Arts and Communication.

Bidewell completed two degrees at Arkansas State, a bachelor’s degree in instrumental music education and a master’s degree in music education.