Jonathan Adams Jr.

Arkansas State senior wide receiver Jonathan Adams Jr. (center) has been named to the 2020 Biletnikoff Award Watch List.

JONESBORO — Arkansas State senior wide receiver Jonathan Adams Jr. has been named to the 2020 Biletnikoff Award Watch List, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation announced Thursday.

The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes college football’s outstanding FBS receiver, regardless of position. Adams becomes the fifth all-time Arkansas State player to find a place on the prestigious watch list, joining Omar Bayless (2019), Kirk Merritt (2019), J.D. McKissic (2013) and Dwayne Frampton (2011). Bayless was tabbed a semifinalist for the award last season.

Adams completed his junior campaign in 2019 with career-best numbers that ranked among the top-10 best in school history. He put together a breakout season that included 62 receptions for 851 yards, both ranking ninth all-time at A-State for a single season. Adams also concluded the year with five touchdown receptions.

The Jonesboro native ended last season ranked fourth in the Sun Belt Conference in receiving yards per game (65.5) and sixth in receptions average (4.8). His performance earned him Third Team All-Sun Belt recognition a year ago, and he has been named 2020 preseason all-conference by publications such as Athlon Sports, College Football News and Phil Steele’s.

Adams will enter his senior season with 87 career receptions for 1,195 yards and nine touchdowns.

Adams is the son of Jonathan Adams and Zandra Clayton. His father was a standout running back at A-State from 1998-2001, earning All-Sun Belt honors in 2001 and still ranking as the Red Wolves’ fourth all-time leading rusher with 3,005 career yards to his credit.

The Biletnikoff Award semifinalists, finalists and recipient are selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of prominent college football journalists, commentators, announcers, past Biletnikoff Award winners and other former receivers.

The Biletnikoff Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association, which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935.