10 Years Ago

The Walnut Ridge Chapter of Family, Career and Community Leaders of America recently competed in Arkansas State STAR (Students Taking Action with Recognition) Events in Little Rock. Beth Massey, Ashton Lawson and Whitney Ward placed in the top in the state in Chapter Service Project Display, securing a chance to compete at the national level this summer in Anaheim, Calif., at the National FCCLA Leadership Meeting.

Winners in the 2011 Black Rock Cub Scouts Pack 65 Pine Wood Derby Race were Roger King, second place and most colorful car; John Taylor Washburn, first place and most creative car; and Hunter Clark, third place and best scout theme car.

Brielle Gall, two-year-old daughter of Robert and Eugenia Gall of Walnut Ridge, won the Overall Most Beautiful Supreme Title in the zero to three-year-old age division in the Beautiful Me, Stars Across the Midwest Place Pageant in Sikeston, Mo., on Saturday. She also won divisional titles for prettiest eyes, best personality, most beautiful, most photogenic, pink wear, denim wear and interview.

20 Years Ago

Mr. and Mrs. Alfred Moss held their 21st recital of music students on March 18 at the Forum in Jonesboro. Those recognized were: Ross Crocker, ShayLee Lawhon, Jessica Fry, Cody Jarrett, Lacy Smith and Anna West. April Downs was honored for her 10 years in music.

Mr. and Mrs. William “Bill” Gaines of Portia will celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary with a drop-in reception on Saturday at the Old Portia School. Bill Gaines married Laverne Land on March 28, 1951, by Justice of the Peace J.R. Laird in Black Rock.

Hunter and Ashley Burris of Walnut Ridge have announced the birth of their second child, a son, born March 23 at St. Bernards in Jonesboro. The baby has been named Wesley Cade Burris. He has a sister, Baylee, who is two.

The Hoxie fifth-grade boys are Lawrence County basketball champions after defeating Lynn Saturday. The team also came in second in the Swifton Peewee Basketball Tournament on March 17. Team members are Spencer Worlow, David Tribble, Tyler Wallis, Jeremy Bennett, Ty Bobbitt, Seth Swartzlander, Josh Dawson, Alex Ward, Houston Hancock, Tanner Jarrett, Zack Harper, Bradley Williams and Blaine Liscomb. The team is coached by Chris McManners.

Members of the Walnut Ridge fifth-grade peewee team who won the Swifton Peewee Basketball Tournament on March 17 are: Jacob Adamson, Nick Estes, Joseph Stewart, Tyler Meadors, Noah Burnside, Baron Lorance, Price Hardin, Tel Britton, Matt Hibbs, Corey Sellers, Colton Simpson and Barrett Kelley. The team is coached by Bob Cole, Terry Burnside and Jeff Hollister.

Walnut Ridge cheerleaders for 2001-2002 have been chosen at WRHS. They are: Beth Sheets, Andrea Cavenaugh, Erin Kennemer, Sarah Wilcoxson, Crystal McClung, Cyndal Dunn, Anna Johnson, Stefanie Johnson, Alyson Williams, Kellie Ward and Jo Beth Berry.

30 Years Ago

The Driftwood Library in Lynn had its grand opening celebration Sunday. Over 100 people visited the library Sunday afternoon.

Andrea Allen, daughter of John and Elaine Allen, was crowned Hoxie High School’s Miss Mustang 1991 last Friday evening.

40 Years Ago

Natalie Gaither of Walnut Ridge was one of 10 finalists in the annual Arkansas Miss USA contest held last night in the Pine Bluff Convention Center. She is a former Miss Lawrence County.

Ten Black Rock second-graders were chosen at random to learn photography from Barney Sellers, photographer for The Commercial Appeal in Memphis. They included: Robert McLaughlin, Leah Freeman, Kelly Richey, April Chadwick, Donna Smith, Charles Brower, Adam Lash, Tracy Toller, Wenona Driskell and Terry Warnick.

Greg Elders, Tim Choat and Joby Caspall, students at Walnut Ridge High School, won honors at the 43rd annual Journalism Contest at ASU held recently. Elders won the editorial writing contest and received honorable mention in radio-TV news writing. Choat won the newspaper copy reading contest, and Caspall placed third in editorial writing.

50 Years Ago

The appointment of Mrs. Mabel Flippo as postmaster at Black Rock was announced today.

Judy Watson, a senior and the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Bobby C. Watson, was crowned Mustang Queen in an assembly Thursday.

Coach Mike Dunigan has named the following lettermen for the basketball season at WRHS: three-year lettermen Randy Golden and Scott Allison; two-year lettermen David Sneed, David Daniel, Eric Hart and Mike Wallin; one-year lettermen James Meadors, Mike Holder, Gary Shrable, Les Adams, Ray Allred and Jim Arnold. James Meadors and Randy Golden were elected permanent captains for the season by team members.

60 Years Ago

The newly-elected Queen of the Lawrence County Saddle Club is Kathy Teel, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. W.M. Teel Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. John Swindle spent last weekend in Kansas City, Mo., attending a reunion of Mr. Swindle’s World War II comrades. Mr. Swindle was a member of a 10-man crew, which flew 100 combat missions on a B-24 bomber in the Pacific area.

70 Years Ago

Another soldier from Lawrence County has been added to the casualty list in the Korean conflict. Pfc. Leroy Brand was wounded in the fighting in Korea on March 8. He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Jeff Brand of Clover Bend.

75 Years Ago

Jack Justus has announced his candidacy for treasurer of Lawrence County.

Mrs. Charles Duty, Mrs. Carson Moore, Mrs. T.M. Mills of Hoxie, Mrs. Warren Miller, Ida Rainwater and Dixie Waddell went to Imboden Saturday afternoon to attend a meeting of Delta Kappa Gamma Sorority at which members at Imboden were hostesses.

80 Years Ago

Mr. and Mrs. Enos Tolson and children drove to Jefferson Barracks, Mo., Sunday, to visit their son and brother, Buddy Tolson, who is in the Air Corps and is stationed there.

Mr. and Mrs. Henry Baltz have moved to Walnut Ridge from Pocahontas and are now at home at their residence in this city.

96 Years Ago

Hoxie fourth-grade grammar school students are: Bill Ed Robins, Clay Weir, James Oldham, Alfred McMillon, Thomas L. McMillon, Glennon Chaney, Delbert Day, Randolph Sechrest, Cecil Thompson, Leo Tucker, Guy Brantley, Fred Light, Irey McDougal, Warren Smith, Lynn Felts, Helen Youngblood, Mary Francis Brassfield, Bernice Borrow, Myra Lockhart, Mildred Pope, Lillian Lane, Lillian Pope, Lucille Roberts, Opal London, Beulah West, Blanche Thompson and Gladys Yants.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.