10 years Ago

Repeated storm systems have caused flooding along all rivers in Lawrence County. Black River is already nearing record flood levels, with more rain predicted and flood waters continuing to come downstream. Flooding is also occurring along the Spring, Strawberry and Cache rivers. A Red Cross shelter has been established to provide assistance for those forced from their homes.

Josh Austin has been named the new men’s basketball coach at Williams Baptist College. Austin has been the head coach at Central Baptist College in Conway the past five years. He replaces Jeff Rider, who stepped down as coach to assume an expanded role as WBC’s athletic director.

The Hillcrest baseball team clinched the 1A-2 East conference title with a doubleheader sweep of Black Rock. The Screamin’ Eagles will host the district baseball tournament at Strawberry.

Lida Tinker will retire at the end of the school year after 38 years in education, with 37 of those years spent at Hoxie School. She taught kindergarten at Hoxie Elementary School for 32 years, and has been HES’s literacy coach the past five years.

20 Years Ago

Lynn High School administration has announced honor graduates for the 2000-2001 school year. Four students with perfect 4.0 GPAs will represent the school as co-valedictorians. They are Leisa Nunnally, Shelby Richey, Jeremy Smith and Brittin Vance. Crystal Brown is salutatorian, with a 3.96 grade point average. Other honor graduates are Tina Wells, Stephanie Gosha, Katie Lewis and Sloane Morgan.

Stewart Park now has eight new birdhouses and Lawrence Hall received bird feeders for the courtyard, thanks to Cub Scout Pack #39 of Hoxie and Walnut Ridge. Cub Scouts involved in the projects include: Colby Whitlow, Tyler Hall, Randy Carter, Robert Carter, Brent Fisher, Taylor Hicks, Garrett Owens, Michael Cullum, Shane Duckworth, Josh Ferguson and Rafe Milburn. Scout Master is Todd Milburn.

Members of the Hoxie High School Stream Team recently planted 1,500 trees along the Eleven Point River to help prevent erosion. The project is part of the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission’s Stream Team program.Team members include: Tommy Crum, Billy Wilson, Matt Bullard, Jackie Hutton, Christie Munn, Alicia Phillips, Lindsey Bullard, Terran Brady, Britany Hancock, Courtney Vance, Rachel Hampton, Sarah Ditto, Sarah Foster, Shantelle Prater and Liz Hancock. Debby Rogers is the club sponsor.

All area Girl Scouts selling 400 or more boxes of Girl Scout cookies were recently honored at the annual Cookie Celebration in Jonesboro. Lawrence County Girl Scouts honored include: Megan Jones of Black Rock, 507 boxes; Jodi Wade of Smithville, 550 boxes, Tonya Noblin of Hoxie, 556 boxes; and Justine Wolfe of Imboden, was the county top seller with 600 boxes.

30 Years Ago

Jeremy Penn has been named valedictorian of the 1990-91 graduating class at Strawberry High School. Andrea Smithee is salutatorian.

Allen Hodge and Teddy Dodd, both seniors at Hoxie High School, have qualified to participate in the state track meet to be held in Dardanelle.

Scott Smith, son of Octavius and Judy Smith of Smithville and a sophomore at Williams Baptist College, was recently elected president of the Arkansas Baptist Student Union Association.

40 Years Ago

Former Governor Orval E. Faubus delivered copies of his new book “Down From the Hills,” to the courthouse in Walnut Ridge last Friday afternoon. Faubus was greeted by several former supporters and enjoyed a brisk sale of his book. Two visitors were R.D. Burrow and Irvin Blanchard. Burrow was an unsuccessful candidate for governor against Faubus, and Blanchard served many years as superintendent of Lake Charles State Park after being named to the position by Faubus.

Jeff Teague of Dumas has been named dealer of the Chevrolet Oldsmobile franchise in Walnut Ridge and has purchased the dealership from Colbert Gill.

Some 81 persons, mostly members of the local United Methodist Women’s group, attended a luncheon recently in honor of Gay White, wife of Arkansas Governor Frank White. Mrs. White spoke to an audience of some 125 persons in the sanctuary of the First United Methodist Church. She related events that had affected her life, and the crowd gave her a standing ovation.

50 Years Ago

Co-valedictorians will serve in twin capacity for the May Black Rock High School Commencement exercises. The leading honor graduates for this year are Reta Ellen McCarroll and Rita Helen McCarroll, identical twins and daughters of Mr. and Mrs. Gene McCarroll of Black Rock. Elizabeth Ann Carey, daughter of Mrs. Ada Belle Carey and the late Joe Carey of Black Rock, is salutatorian.

Dr. Joe Hughes has been named Chief of Staff at Lawrence Memorial Hospital. He succeeds Dr. J.J. Whittington, who is now on the staff at St. Bernard’s Hospital.

Principal award winners at the Jaycee Distinguished Service Awards Dinner were General Guntharp, outstanding young man; Duane Gaither, outstanding young farmer; Wright Hatcher, boss of the year; Sloan Turnbow, outstanding young educator; Willodene Williams, outstanding young woman.

60 Years Ago

James T. Stallcup was elected president of the Walnut Ridge Lion’s Club. Other officers elected were: Walter Pennington, Jim Young, Harry Hilburn, Melville Neece, Kenneth Guthrie, Charles Bratcher. Elected to the board of directors were Danny Sears, Edgar Smith, R.A. Howard and Pat Ferguson.

Superintendent James Sullens of Strawberry Public Schools has announced the honor graduates for the class of 1960-61. They are Brenda Kay Couch, valedictorian; and Carolyn Hugg and Sydney Willmuth, co-salutatorians.

70 Years Ago

Raymond Powers, superintendent of schools in the Clover Bend District, has announced the first and second honor graduates of the senior class of 1951. Mazie Bell Arnold, daughter of Mrs. Lola Arnold of Route 1, Hoxie, was chosen valedictorian and Evelyn Hamel, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Odus Hamel of Route 1, Alicia, has been selected as salutatorian.

Larry Davis of Fender 4-H Club took first place honors in the Lawrence County livestock show in Walnut Ridge April 5, with his 1,304-pound Angus steer.

Sweepstakes honors at the annual 4-H Club Dress Revue held here went to Miss Bonnie Moore of Denton, a member of the Lynn 4-H Club. Other winners were Fairy Travis, Imboden; and Evelyn Hamel, Clover Bend.

75 Years Ago

The B&PW Club re-elected Mrs. C.C. Snapp as their president at their monthly dinner meeting. The following were also elected: Mrs. Bertha Stokes, Mrs. T.M. Mills, Mrs. Butler Weir, Mrs. Edna Haley and Mrs. Mabel Hill.

Tressa Dobbs, an eighth-grade pupil of Miss Dixie Waddell in the Fender School, won the county spelling championship in finals held at Powhatan. Clodell Wilson, an eighth-grade pupil of Louis Robert in the Minturn Schools, was runner-up.

Walnut Ridge senior class will present their senior play entitled “Professor How Could You!” The cast will include Leo Campbell, Betty Sue Rainwater, Tootsie Moore, Wendell Brown, C.W. Webb, Mary Ona Floyd, Joyce Myers, Leroy Lacy, Ruth Dodd, Conway Sawyers, Bobby Futrell, Imogene Hamilton and Selma Jeanne Moore.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.